Sewing Sunday Short

Sewing Sunday was cut rather short today.  We have been waiting for a while to have our front door installed, and it just so happened that this weekend was full of door installation.  You see, Saturday did not go so well and tools needed to be borrowed to finish the job on Sunday.  I think it took a total of 9 hours to install the door, door knobs (including deadbolt) and screen door.  Who would have thought it would have taken so long?  There is still some touch up work to do in the Spring when the weather is a little warmer and also some trim work to finish within the next few days, but overall, the door is finally in and I can finally park back in the garage after four months of not being able to.  Yay!

I was only able to get about 1 1/2 hours of sewing in this morning, but it was enough to get a few small projects done that I have been wanting to do for some time now.

I sewed two patches on the hubby’s pants.  Boy, is he hard on them!  Good thing I learned this new and easy skill last week.

I sewed an extension on our cart cover.  Those Target shopping carts are just so roomy that our daughter would get annoyed when the cover would constantly fall down on her.  Hopefully this small extension (about 10 inches) will help a little.  If not, at least she will be interested in the firetrucks, trucks and cars on it.  (The picture is less than ideal…the sun was shining so bright!)

DSC00406

I also made our daughter two cozies for her Klean Kanteens.  She kept saying, “Mommy, please blow on my hands.  They are cold.”  I would definitely make them a little larger next time, but these will work for now.  I haven’t heard, “Mommy, please blow on my hands.  They are cold.,”  all day.  I would also make them both out of dark fabric, as the yellow apple one is going to be prone to stains.

DSC00405

 Not sure what sewing projects are in store for next Sunday yet.  I’m still getting acquainted with Handmade Home.  Maybe I will be able to make something from that book for next week.  I also want to make a tree skirt before Christmas too.  I need to find a tutorial or good pattern first though.  Any suggestions?

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Sewing Sunday Short”

  1. eatfruit Says:

    I have ideas for the tree skirt– my mom made me one a few years ago and she used fabric from my old prom dresses. If you have some of Emma’s old outfits you’d like to always have save for a special holiday project you could patchwork them into the tree skirt. My mom used the fabric to make ornaments, stars, trees, etc.

Leave a Reply

