Homemade Nutella

I found a list of ingredients used to make homemade nutella, but no measurements or directions were given.  Thinking I could pull it off without them, I dove right in and made it up as I went.  As a sidebar, if you google homemade nutella, there are an amazing number of recipes out there.  If I had just googled first.  Oh well.  Here is the recipe I made up:

1 cup chocolate chips
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
1 tsp. hazelnut oil
 
Melt chocolate and cream over medium heat and stir until melted.  Add hazelnut oil and stir until combined.  Put in glass jar with screw top lid.  Refrigerate.  Makes ~1cup

Well, I must say that the made-up recipe is not very, well, ‘Nutella-like,’ but more chocolate-like.  I think I’ll melt it and use it for dipping pretzels.  Who doesn’t like chocolate dipped pretzels!?!?

Here is the recipeI googled.  It is definitely better.  I think it is a bolder flavor than store bought nutella, which I think I may prefer.  Don’t let the recipe fool you though by thinking it will only take 20 minutes to whip up.  I think it took me more like 40 minutes – 1 hour.  Removing the skins from the hazelnuts was the biggest time eater in the recipe.  Also, I only have a small food processor, so I think that add a little to the time to process all ingredients together. 

This will probably not be made again, just because it took so long, but who knows.  It is good, but with only 2 grams of fiber and 2 grams of protein per serving, I’m not sure it is that good for us to eat too much of.

In short, this was an adventure, but probably won’t make it on our list of staples to have around the house.  Now what to do with all this hazelnut oil??

 
 
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

