An Exciting Day!!!!!

Well, I was talking to my friend on the way home from an appointment and she was telling me that her daughter is potty trained.  The last time I talked to her she had not purchased a potty yet, so I was really surprised and happy for them.  Yay!  Yay!  Yay!  Anyway, while we were talking, the light bulb went on for me.  Our daughter has been sitting on the potty, but had yet to produce anything in there.  We’ve been doing this for a few weeks now and nothing.  She enjoys it, but nothing.  So, the light bulb went on when I was asking how they deal with outings.  Do they take the potty?  Etc., etc.  Anyway, they do take a potty, which I think is a good idea…for me and for my little one.  Germs….  Anyway, I was saying how I didn’t know how my daughter would do because she usually doesn’t go poop when we are out and about and will save it until we get home.  Light bulb!!!!  Oh, maybe she would like some privacy.  So, after lunch is usually a good time for a poop, so I put her on her potty with a few books, told her I was giving her privacy and asked her to tell me when she had pooped.  Well, a few minutes went by and I just looked in to make sure she was still on the potty.  I went back to what I was doing, then went back to check again.  She was kind of squatting, so I went in to help her get back on the potty and low and behold pee and a little poop too.  Exciting!!!  Exciting!!!  Exciting!!!  I think she still had to go, because a while later back in her diaper was more poop, but oh well.  So exciting!!!! 

Daddy is picking up some undies today.  I think we may try the underwear thing during the day and diapers (and pull-ups when we are out of diapers) at nap and night time.  We’ll see how it goes, but I’ve heard rave reviews about just putting children in the undies so they can feel that it is uncomfortable. 

I know not to push the issue and to let her take the lead, so we will see how it goes, but she has been giving me a lot of signs, so we’ll just try it and see.  If it doesn’t work, we can always try in another month or two.  I’ll keep you posted.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “An Exciting Day!!!!!”

  1. Jennifer Nguyen Says:

    Good luck to you!!! Princess was 3 before we pushed it. She peed on the floor MANY times! We got it though… Now to get to the carpets!!!

Leave a Reply

