Sara Snow’s Energy Bars

Just made these today.  jan-09-emmafinger-painting-001

They were very easy to make.  Just throw in the ingredients, stir and place on wax paper.  I found the easiest way to do this was to use the spoonula to mix it and to drop it on the waxed paper.  Then, just fold the wax paper over and smash down a little to make a flat patty.  I froze a few and put a few in the frig.  Here is the recipe from Sara’s website:

INGREDIENTS
2 1/2 cups old fashioned organic quick oats
1/2 cup whole flax seed  (I got this in bulk at Whole Foods…reasonable as well)
1/4 cup organic dark cocoa power (or slightly less)
1/2 cup natural peanut butter
1/2 cup honey
1/2 t spirulina
1/2 to 1 cup HOT water (I used 1 full cup of hot water)

INSTRUCTIONS
Stir ingredients together.
Form into individual sized paddies, like hamburgers.  (See my little hint about spoonula and throwing it on wax paper instead of forming it into patties.  It is very sticky, so I found it worked the best to just put it on with the spoonula.)
Wrap in plastic wrap and keep in freezer or fridge.

Also, I was able to get the spirula at Whole Foods.  I did almost have a panic attack when I saw the price…$39.99 a pound.  But, don’t worry I got enough to make this recipe about 8-10 times and it only costs me $.80.  Under a dollar.  I looked up spirula online and found out that it is awesome for you.  Very high in protein, vitamins and other antioxidants. 

Taste….

Well, I liked it and so does our toddler.  I would say that picky eaters may not eat them, but you can try it on them.  They would definitely be worth the nutrients you and your children would get.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Sara Snow’s Energy Bars”

  1. Trust Seals Says:

    Very cool. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

