Air Pollution In Schools

Check out this article here.  After reading skimming the FAQ, it appears that it is regarding outdoor air pollution.  Read it for yourself if you’d like.

I’m more interested in the indoor air pollution.  Did you know that indoor air is typically 2-10 times more polluted than outdoor air?  Do you know what cleaning chemicals are being used in your child’s school?  Seem over the top?  Well, let me tell you, I worked in a school where there was an aerosol can of deodorizer/sanitizer in the staff bathroom (easily accessible to kids I might add) that was strong enough to kill blood borne pathogens.  Amazing huh?!?!  Something that strong is being sprayed in a school.  I’m sure the school I worked at is just one of many that spray harmful chemicals into the air that your child breathes.  A little uptight?  Maybe…I know I can’t control every aspect of what my child consumes into her body, but I feel like it is my job to protect her.  I know we all want the best for our kids. 

What can we do?  I know there are grassroots efforts all over America fighting for this very cause.  I just don’t know if I am strong enough to change it in my town.  There are schools out there that clean ‘green.’  Why not every school?  From what I have read so far, it is actually cheaper to clean schools using ‘green’ products.  I think things will change in the future, but when?  We’ll see I guess. 

Any thoughts?  Know of any organizations in your community pushing to change the way your school cleans?  I’d be very interested to know if anyone else is interested in this.  Ideas?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

