Money and Cheap Homemade Cookies

I’ve been trying to buy this sewing machine for over a month now, but even at the sale price of $599.00, I can not afford it.  I have $305 saved, but that is only half of it, and that isn’t even taking into account the taxes and new thread I will need for it.  Oh, how I want this machine so badly.  I may settle for this one though.  It is currently on sale for $429.00.  Yes, still over $100.00 over what I have saved, but I’ve been trying to earn money.  It is not easy being a SAHM and trying to earn extra cash for the extras that I so desire.  My husband is supportive, but doesn’t see it as a need.  He is right, but I so desire it.  We keep discussing it, and hopefully if some of my in-home business ventures take off, I’ll be sewing with a new machine of my own soon. 

Enough wishing and whining for now on that subject.  My last thought though is that Craigslist sucks and I can not get anything to sell on there.  No interest at all.  Oh well.

Okay, seriously, we are very blessed to have a warm home to live in, food to eat and each other to share it with.  That is a lot more than others have and I am well aware of that.  I am extremely blessed with health, home and happiness. 

So, on to the good part…cheap homemade vanilla wafer cookies!!!!

1/2 cup butter (no substitutes)
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Combine dry ingredients; add to creamed mixture and mix well.  Drop by teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Remove to a wire rack to cool.  Yield:  about 3 1/2 dozen.

The recipe is taken from a Taste of Home magazine.

Hope you’ll try the recipe.  It is yummy and the cookies actually were pretty moist.  I was expecting the hockey puck-like vanilla wafer cookies I used to buy prepackaged in a previous life, but no, these were soft and yummy.

Enjoy!!!  We are about to be hit with tons of snow, so I’ll have to take some pictures for all you warm climate readers.  Go bask in the sun for me for awhile will you!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

