Using What We Have

I’ve been wanting to find something to make making lunches easier.  Specifically, I wanted to find some little jars with lids on them that I could mix homemade macaroni and cheese sauce base in.  It just takes extra time to get out the flour, salt and dry mustard and measure it all.  I thought it would be nice to have it premeasured into something.  I haven’t been able to find anything in the stores to accommodate this need.

The other night while making supper, I used some small pimento jars.  I was just about to throw them in the recycling when it hit me.  I could use these jars for the macaroni and cheese sauce base.  Finally, something to accomodate the mix and I didn’t have to spend $10 or use any additional resources to get it.

I mixed two jars of the sauce base up that night and put them in the refrigerator.  The next day, we needed a quick meal and it worked out great to just grab a sauce base jar out of the frig. and dump it into the pot.  This was especially helpful because the husband was busy doing bills and our daughter was underfoot in the kitchen.  I was very thankful for the premade jars of sauce base.

Here is a picture of the little jars…so cute too…

november-2008-thanksgiving-emma-010

This has me thinking of all the other possibilities I could use recycled glass jars for.  I already used some to store homemade soap and my brown sugar body scrub.  What next?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

