A Lot Ticked and A Lot Tickled

Well, lets just get the ticked out of the way!  I have been feeding our daughter Organic Bernie O’s out of a can on and off for the whole summer, if not a little longer…well, recently I’ve been reading about BPA in canned foods and soda cans.  Hmm, can you think of how much soda and canned goods you’ve consumed over your lifetime?  I can’t, but I know it is a lot.  I thought I was a least doing a little better drinking Caffeine Free soda when I was pregnant, but come to find out that nasty BPA is in the soda cans.  It is in almost all canned foods and soda cans. 

So, long story short, I’ve finally started calling companies and asking about BPA in their packaging.  This is the email that I got from Roundy’s the other day:

Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Roundy’s with your inquiry on our
products and the chemical BPA.

We have been informed that our products do not contain this chemical.

I hope that this information is of help to you.  Once again, thank you for your
email and patronage.

Jonathan Wood
Customer Experience Representative
Roundy’s Supermarkets Inc.

Ref# 458301

Does it sound like the whole truth to you?  It doesn’t to me.  “We have been informed that our products do not contain this chemical.”  Um, are you sure?  I emailed them back for clarification asking them if I understood them correctly and again directly asked if it is in the packaging.  Have I heard back from them?  No!  I’ll let you know when I do.

Well, like I said earlier, I’ve been feeding our daughter Organic Bernie O’s and thinking I was feeding her something wonderful (okay, so not wonderful, but a hot meal and organic).  Turns out, I was putting toxins into her body.  I was feeding her BPA.  That’s right, BPA is in the can lining of Organic Bernie O’s.  What?!?!!!!!?  I’m livid!  I don’t know why.  I shouldn’t be surprised, but don’t you just want to be able to trust that companies aren’t knowingly killing you slowly each time you eat their product?

Long story short, I’m pissed and on the lookout for other alternatives. 

On a much, much, much happier note:

november-2008-twirly-skirt-001

I finished the Twirly Skirt I started a few days ago.  I used ribbon instead of fabric for the bow, but I think I like it okay.  We’ll see how it holds up.  I can’t wait to try it on our daughter.  It will be a little big on her, but by the Spring I bet it will be perfect.  My bottom hem didn’t quite turn out like I thought it should.  I think I made an inch seam allowance instead of a half inch, but no one will be the wiser.  Well, except you I guess. 

I also made this the other night:

november-2008-twirly-skirt-002

It is just as labeled, ‘Fragrant Foot Scrub.’  We haven’t used it yet, but I plan to throw some on my husband’s feet tonight and see what he thinks. 

Have a great weekend everyone!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

