What’s Cooking…

Well, I thought I would make some Sweet Potato and Chorizo Au Gratin for supper tonight.

When I first saw the recipe, I thought to myself, ‘Yum, that sounds delicious and simple.’  So, here I am making Sweet Potato and Chorizo Au Gratin. 

Here are some pictures of the process.  Side note:  I always forget to start taking pictures until half way through, so here are some shots…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not the most appetizing pictures, but I assure you this recipe is going to knock it out of the ballpark.  The top left picture is some of the ingredients…sweet potatoes, smoked mozzarella, pureed chipotle in adobo, and heavy whipping cream.   The top right is a photo of the mexican-style chorizo after it was cooked and chopped.  The bottom photo is a mixture of oregano, thyme, chipotle in adobo, eggs and heavy whipping cream.  This is what I have so far.  In a few minutes I need to go throw it all together and into the oven for 75 minutes. 

I found this recipe on the Organic Valley website.  After I already decided I liked it, I saw a caption saying it was from a cookbook of a restrautant near where I live.  Awesome!  I’ll have to try their version once and see how it compares.

Sweet Potato and Chorizo Au Gratin

3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced as thinly as possible
12 ounces Mexican-style chorizo, cooked
3 cups smoked mozzarella
4 large eggs
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
1 Tbsp dried oregano
1 Tbsp dried thyme
3 TBSP canned pureed chipotle in adobo (Found at Whole Foods)

Instructions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray bottom and sides of 9×13 inch pan with non-stick spray.  (I am going to use butter instead of the spray.)
Lay sliced sweet potatoes slightly overlapping in pan.  Spread a quarter of the chorizo over this.  Add a quarter of the cheese.  Repeat this process until chorizo and cheese are used up.
Mix eggs, cream and herbs in small bowl until smooth.  Pour over layers.
Cover pan tightly.  Bake until potatoes are tender and center of dish is firm, about 75 minutes.  Let cool.  ENJOY!!

Hopefully I’ll remember to take a picture of the finished product to post.  I’m already licking my lips though.  I have never had anything like this.  Yum!!!

Leave a Reply

