Sick Around Here

Well, we’ve been sick around here.  Our daughter has a cold and I have the same thing.  I think my husband is coming down with it now too.  I was pretty pathetic yesterday and our daughter had two rough nights last week.  We don’t let her watch TV, but the only thing that calmed her down was watching Animal Planet.  I figure it wouldn’t harm her to watch a little bit as long as she calmed down.  She was screaming and kicking and crying and screaming and rolling and wanted nothing.  She didn’t want her blankets, her bear, her baby, her milk, to look at her favorite photo album, nothing would do it for her.  Finally, exhausted at 3 a.m. I switched on TV and instantly thought of Animal Planet.  My mother-in-law lets her cats watch it and always says what a good channel it is.  Maybe that is why I thought of it, or maybe it is because our daughter is loving animals right now.  Anyway, it worked!  The first night she fell asleep in about 3 minutes, but was back up again.  I was able to put her in her crib though because she was calm.  The second night I flipped on Animal Planet after 2 hours and it worked and I was able to put her in her crib and get some rest too.  Needless to say, I’m now sick.  My husband took really good care of us yesterday.  Thank God for him!

I did manage to sneak in a few art projects within the last week though.  Here are a few pictures of our art.

Our Countdown to Halloween

This is our Fall tree of footprints and handprints.  Next year, we’ll let each set dry and add more.  Plus, she won’t be near as wiggly, well maybe wiggly, but should be more into art.  We’ll see.

Handprint and Footprint Fall Tree Art

Handprint and Footprint Fall Tree Art

I’ve also done a little crafting and here is my version of the embroidery clothes pin dolls.  I can not for the life of me find the blog that inspired them, nor could I find the tutorial when I wanted to make them.  They will be for our daughter for a little Christmas gift. 

Little Clothes Pin People

Little Clothes Pin People

On another note, I finally got her to wear her tutu that I spent 4 hours making.  I think she will like it once she gets used to the texture.  She looks too cute in it.

Tonight I’m making a Garden Vegetable Quiche recipe.  My friend Christa gave me the recipe.  I can’t wait to eat it.  I am really hoping we like it because I am doubling the recipe.  I bought a few too many mushrooms and you know how those get mushy after you wash them.  I’m not letting perfectly good Organic mushrooms go to waste.  I’ll post the recipe soon.

We went to our favorite resale shop again today.  It is kind of  a Monday tradition.  I found her a pair of footie PJs for $2, a cute little red knit dress for $5, and a Sandra Boyton book for $3.50.  I am finding it hard not to buy things when I go.  The PJs she needed and the book I washed with vinegar and put away for Christmas.  The knit dress she did not need, but it is cute and I’ll make sure to pass it on once our kids are grown.  

Must get more done before she wakes.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

