A Clean Closet

Organizing clothes for a little one is a full-time job in itself.  It seems like every few weeks I’m going through her closet and pulling things out that don’t fit.  I don’t just throw them in a drawer or some random container either.  I take the time to organize them. 

Here’s how I do it:

  • Look through pieces one-by-one and decide if it still fits and is still in season
  • If it doesn’t fit or it’s out of season, it comes with me downstairs
  • I keep a large rubbermaid tote labeled, “Add to first…Needs sorting”
  • When the “Add to first…Needs sorting” rubbermaid tote is full, I go through it piece by piece and put the clothes in piles.  For example, 6-9 months, 6 months, 6-12 months, 12 months, 12-18 months, 18 months, 18-24 months, etc.
  • When I have my piles, I arrange them in the tote with the larger sizes on bottom (18-24mths. on bottom, then18 months, then 12-18 months, then 12 months, then 6-12 months, etc.) until my tote is full.
  • Each tote is labeled with the exact contents of what is inside. 
  • The newborn/3-6 month tote is in front, while the 12 month/12-18 month/18-24 month tote is in back on the shelving.  This way, when number 2 comes along, the clothes he/she will wear first are in the front and easy to grab.

Feels good to accomplish something and you have a clean house to boot.  Happy cleaning!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

